Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses Review

Disclaimer: I received the Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

I was presented with a great opportunity though BibRave to test the Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses that I just couldn’t pass up! If you know me, then you know I am from Minnesota and we are in the middle of our winter here. You may be asking yourself, why would I want to test a pair of sunglasses now, aren’t sunglasses used for 80+ degree mid day runs? Well yes, that is true, but they are also used for wind and sun glare protection off of the snow, which is exactly why I wanted to give them a shot!!

Here are some details of the Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses from their website:

  • Adjustable Nose Piece: Adjustable nose pieces are outstandingly comfortable and offer an exceptional fit for any shape of face. This system can also be used to adjust the glasses’ height and their distance from the face to prevent misting.
  • Bumpers: The bumpers are colorful rubber inserts conceived to maximize your safety in the event of crush or knocks. Plus, the Bumpers are integrated with the easy-to-open frame Vent Controller to prevent fogging and ensure perfect ventilation. The bumpers are available in different colors, what better opportunity to customize your own sunglasses!
  • Vent Controller: No more misting, only crystal-clear vision. Our registered Vent Controller™ controls lens entry points airflow to reduce thermal shock and prevent misting, thus ensuring perfect vision and comfortable ventilation.
  • Quick Change: A superior optics solution for weather management.

    The registered Quick Change™ interchangeable lenses system makes it easy and quick to switch lenses to suit any light conditions.

Ways I tested the sunglasses:

I mainly used these sunglasses while running outside in the snow. These outdoor runs ranged from 4-6 miles and were done in the afternoon hours leading into dusk. I also tested these sunglasses on an 8 mile treadmill run to test how they held up on a hot and sweaty run. This was also a test of how well the ImpactX PhotoChromic lenses worked.

Thinks I liked:

  • Fit
    • As you can see from my pictures, these sunglasses just fit my face perfect. Not much more I have to say about this point!
  • No movement
    • With any sunglasses running there is the thought of them bouncing around on your face. This is not the case with the Fotonyk’s. I do not recall even one time where I felt these move, shift, or bounce at all.
  • Transition lenses
    • The ImpactX Photochromic Lenses are great for running. Just think if you start a run/race in the early morning and end after the sun is up. With the transition lenses you can keep these sunglasses on the entire time and not be worried about adding to the darkness of the morning with dark lenses.
    • Lenses Inside

      Lenses Outside
  • Option to keep/remove bumpers
    • I think its great to have sunglasses that can hold multiple values. In the Fotonyk’s they make great running or biking sunglasses. The bumpers are there for added protection if you were to fall while riding your bike, or I guess while running. For me, I didn’t feel I needed to keep the bumpers on my pair of sunglasses as I am less prone to falling. Rudy Project makes it very simple to remove these and create a new look in the process!
    • With the bumpers

Only issue I had with them, which was quickly resolved:

  • On my first outdoor run my sunglasses fogged up. At the time, it was really cold and I had a BUFF covering my mouth and nose. I was able to fix this issue on my next run by lowering the BUFF to just below my nose and by adjusting the nose piece on my sunglasses so they sat slightly farther away from my face. After that, no issues at all!!

Overall:

These are are great pair of sunglasses. They work great to stop the cold wind from hitting my face while on winter runs. They also block the perfect amount of sunlight with the transition lenses. I can’t wait for Spring to get here so I can take full advantage of these on those warmer months of training!

Check out what my fellow BibRave Pros have to say about the Fotonyk Sunglasses (Brenda, Angie, Heather, Emily, Jeremy, Erica)

I have include the link to the Rudy Project Fotonyk sunglasses, along with Rudy Project’s social media handles if you would like to follow them and see what they come out with next!

Website: Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RudyProjectNA
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RudyProjectNA/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rudyprojectna/

2 thoughts on “Rudy Project Fotonyk Sunglasses Review”

Leave a Reply

