BUFF UV Arm Sleeves Review

Disclaimer: I received the BUFF UV Arm Sleeves to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

I have run with arm sleeves in the past, but only in the fall and really early spring, and only to add an extra layer of warmth on my arms (I would even wear them under another long sleeve shirt for warmth). When I was given the opportunity to test the BUFF UV Arm Sleeves that are sweat wicking and UPF 40+ protective I knew I was in for something new that would aid in my running attire during those brisk spring mornings, or as a means to fight those rays from the sun on hot days!

Product Details (from the BUFF USA website)

  • Provides UPF 40+ protection
  • Moisture wicking fabric is breathable and comfortable
  • Durable, comfortable four-way stretch for light compression
  • Stretch flatlock seam eliminates chafing
  • Antimicrobial fabric treatment helps control odors
  • Lightweight, compressible and packable
  • Slightly smaller elastic upper (compared to angling version) holds sleeve comfortably in place
  • Reflective elements for added low-light visibility
  • Set of 2 arm sleeves

How I Tested

I tested these arm sleeves during the month of May in Minnesota. This month has been known to have its fair share of cold and warm days, which made it a great month to test these. On the brisk days these arm sleeves added a layer of warmth which I would say was comparable to wearing a long sleeve technical shirt. On the warmer days they aided in protection from the sun, along with seeming to trap whatever breeze there was in the air and cooling down my arms. When I wore the arm sleeves, I did so with a tank top so that as the morning got warmer and warmer, or as I warmed up in my run, I was able to remove these sleeves with ease and just run in my tank top. I used these on varying distances and times of the day. I even used them during a half marathon I ran, well at least for the 2 mile warm up run and the first 6 miles of the race. After half the race I was ready for a change, so quickly took the sleeves off an tucked them in my waist belt I was wearing that contained my phone.

My Thoughts

  • White color choice
    • BUFF has always been known in my mind as a company that prides itself on a variety of patterns and colors for its products. Since I knew I would be using the UV Arm Sleeves in warmer weather, I was very happy to see a simple white option! In my opinion the white color worked really well for use in warm weather and made me feel more comfortable putting them on knowing it was already hot out when doing so.
  • Hold
    • The elastic band around the top of each sleeve helps hold them in place. I had measured my arm prior to ordering these to make sure I got the correct size and had zero movement in the product while in use…and lets be honest, who wants to worry about keeping arm sleeves in place while you are running!
  • Warm weather use
    • It is  a bit hard to explain, but as I wore these on sunny days, the arm sleeves managed to trap the breeze and helped cool my arms down. I think this may be due to the moisture wicking technology, but whatever it is, I liked it!
    • These were great for the start of a run in either warm or cooler conditions (longest use was 8 miles in warm weather), but after time you just don’t want anything on your arms anymore. Luckily these arm sleeves are so easy to remove that when the time came to take them off it didn’t affect my run!

 

I really think that at the price point of $24.99 they would make a great addition to any runners attire, and I am happy to now have them to include in mine! If you are interested in hearing more about the BUFF UV Arm Sleeves, check out what my fellow BibRave Pros have to say (Amy, Brad, Tedrick, Jeannine, Lindsey)

I have included the link to the BUFF Arm Sleeves so you can view the choices for yourself, along with BUFF’s social media handles for you to see what else they come out with!!

Website: http://buffusa.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BUFF_USA
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Buff.Inc/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/buff_usa/

Also make sure you check out the BibRave Twitter Chat, #BibChat, on Tuesday, June 6th at 8 PM CT where BUFF will be the sponsor.

4 thoughts on “BUFF UV Arm Sleeves Review”

Leave a Reply

